Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx rocks!

I’ve been using openSUSE for quite some time now. Barring the ubiquitous driver issues that plague all Linux distros I’ve not had much to complain.
Over the last two years or so Ubuntu has been picking up steam.. at least the community seems very active. So I went ahead and downloaded the latest release – Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx. I opted for the 64-Bit Desktop Edition (ubuntu-10.04-desktop-amd64.iso).

The installation was super easy and was quite fast. Everything just worked fine – Graphics (Compiz), Sound, Webcam etc. It also gave me an option to use the proprietary driver for my ATI Radeon graphics card. I installed the ATI drivers and then configured Compiz cube and other visual effects.

Installing drivers or any other software for that matter is really simple on Ubuntu. I love the “Ubuntu Software Update Center”. I immediately downloaded Mozilla Thunderbird, VLC Media Player and few other must have utilities.
When I invoked Rhythm Box to play some songs it immediately prompted me to install the MP3 plugins. A button click and my MP3 plugins were installed.

Installing JDK and NetBeans was fairly straightforward as well.

Mozilla Thunderbird works fine but I ran into issues trying to install the calendar plugin – Lightning. There seems to be some issue with its 64-bit version and lot of other folks been struggling with it too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

